Joe Rosenberg: Why I am for John Kerry

Moderator: Super Moderators

Iris
Pirate

Joe Rosenberg: Why I am for John Kerry

Post by Iris » 10-17-2004 09:56 PM

Why I am for John Kerry

by Joe Rosenberg

A few months ago during the primary season, before Iowa and New Hampshire, I choose John Kerry as my favorite candidate. As a Vietnam vet, I was glad one of us could make it to the White House. Then and now, for me there have been two main reasons to support John Kerry: (1) he is not George Bush and (2) he showed up twice, as Dick Cheney would say, "Big Time," once when he enlisted and then when he made public his opinions about the war. I am certain there was an ulterior motive in both cases, Kerry being a very ambitious political animal, but he willingly put himself in the line of fire when others were ducking at home.

Right now, because of all the media coverage focusing primarily on his Vietnam service and anti-war activities, we hear little about what Kerry would do as President, except forming a general assumption that he will follow a Clintonesque domestic program and a more coalition-oriented foreign policy. So I can only list the reasons why we must have a change in leadership.

As an employee of the Social Security Administration for 39 years, I recall what Reagan did to the disability process in the 1980s, spending time and resources in aggressively determining if a person receiving Title II or Title XVI disability benefits still merited receiving those benefits.

This time it will not just be disability redeterminations that would be in play under a second Bush-Cheney-Halliburton administration, but Bush's policies of outsourcing federal program would be expanded into Title II and XVI, with insurance firms like Aetna and Prudential taking over the claims adjudication functions from SSA and State agencies. Many staff and computer positions at SSA are already targets for outsourcing, this trend will be accelerated.