Help Desk

Internet, computing and anything electronic and tech related discussed here

Moderator: Super Moderators

User avatar
Doka
Pirate
Posts: 5387
Joined: 09-02-2009 08:15 PM

Post by Doka » 09-07-2013 05:07 PM

Hi Turtle, Have you run something like Malwarbytes to check for viruses.
http://blog.malwarebytes.org/

How long has it been since you cleaned "caches" ran "disk" cleanup, defrager. Made sure you are updated if you are on Windows? Sometime this works, if not , the "tecki" guys here are great.!!! to suggest other stuff.

I am on a land line, very slow, miss out on a lot of stuff, but have no problems.
Last edited by Doka on 09-07-2013 05:12 PM, edited 1 time in total.
Karma Rules

User avatar
turtle101
Ship's Bartender
Posts: 3622
Joined: 07-08-2001 02:00 AM

Post by turtle101 » 09-07-2013 05:23 PM

my computer is totally clean and a great anti viruses......believe me its the server. thanks doka
Due to current economic conditions the light at the end of the tunnel has been turned off.

User avatar
Fan
Lady with a
Posts: 5270
Joined: 05-09-2011 02:18 PM
Contact:

Post by Fan » 09-08-2013 10:46 AM

sometimes you are just stuck, the best you can try is talk to neighbours and see if anyone in the area has a better connection... cable is best if you can get it for sure.
The heartbreaking necessity of lying about reality and the heartbreaking impossibility of lying about it.

― Kurt Vonnegut, Cat's Cradle

User avatar
turtle101
Ship's Bartender
Posts: 3622
Joined: 07-08-2001 02:00 AM

Post by turtle101 » 09-08-2013 12:54 PM

that's what I thought. what neighbors? !1. my scary landlord. 2. two humans that live by night never seen in daylight. 3. Has 17 dogs loose in the yard Not going there. the rest are to far to consider. I did discover one thing. the higher up I up the black box the better signal I get. hhhmmm, get longer cord, put on roof. Now I'm thinking.
Due to current economic conditions the light at the end of the tunnel has been turned off.

User avatar
turtle101
Ship's Bartender
Posts: 3622
Joined: 07-08-2001 02:00 AM

Post by turtle101 » 09-09-2013 02:29 PM

Fan wrote: sometimes you are just stuck, the best you can try is talk to neighbours and see if anyone in the area has a better connection... cable is best if you can get it for sure.


Can I get a booster for my virgin mobile devise?:coolhat:
Due to current economic conditions the light at the end of the tunnel has been turned off.

User avatar
turtle101
Ship's Bartender
Posts: 3622
Joined: 07-08-2001 02:00 AM

Post by turtle101 » 09-09-2013 08:23 PM

got it..placed my little black box outside and now i'm at 60% went to 80%. have a virgin pro booster coming. I'm powering put of here....finger crossed everyone
Due to current economic conditions the light at the end of the tunnel has been turned off.

User avatar
Fan
Lady with a
Posts: 5270
Joined: 05-09-2011 02:18 PM
Contact:

Post by Fan » 09-10-2013 08:50 AM

turtle101 wrote: Can I get a booster for my virgin mobile devise?:coolhat:
I know they exist but I really don't know much about them. Let us know if it works!
The heartbreaking necessity of lying about reality and the heartbreaking impossibility of lying about it.

― Kurt Vonnegut, Cat's Cradle

User avatar
turtle101
Ship's Bartender
Posts: 3622
Joined: 07-08-2001 02:00 AM

Post by turtle101 » 09-10-2013 12:19 PM

Fan wrote: I know they exist but I really don't know much about them. Let us know if it works!
:crazyjump okie dokie smokie :coolhat: :crazyjump
Due to current economic conditions the light at the end of the tunnel has been turned off.

User avatar
turtle101
Ship's Bartender
Posts: 3622
Joined: 07-08-2001 02:00 AM

Post by turtle101 » 09-14-2013 12:24 PM

wow!!!!!...cowboy's and cowgirls...hold on to your cow hats....this is a very small antenna and man this is woooow great. went from 3 bars to 5 and zipping around the internet like a mad monkey. took it out of the box, with in less then 8 minutes I was up and powering out. I just stuck it outside the window after connecting to the virgin pro device and bam. when the clouds come in will be the biggest test.
Due to current economic conditions the light at the end of the tunnel has been turned off.

User avatar
Doka
Pirate
Posts: 5387
Joined: 09-02-2009 08:15 PM

Post by Doka » 10-21-2014 06:05 PM

Hi you guys. Ineed to change my e-mail address. Can I do that , with out losing all my stuff? Or do I need to start all over?

Thanks Doka
Karma Rules

User avatar
Fan
Lady with a
Posts: 5270
Joined: 05-09-2011 02:18 PM
Contact:

Post by Fan » 10-22-2014 08:14 AM

Doka wrote: Hi you guys. Ineed to change my e-mail address. Can I do that , with out losing all my stuff? Or do I need to start all over?

Thanks Doka


Hi Doka, what type of address do you have now and what do you want to change it to? Like is your current email address with your internet provider? In answer to your question, no you don't have to lose everything if you do a migration before closing your old one. I can help you figure it out.
The heartbreaking necessity of lying about reality and the heartbreaking impossibility of lying about it.

― Kurt Vonnegut, Cat's Cradle

User avatar
Doka
Pirate
Posts: 5387
Joined: 09-02-2009 08:15 PM

Post by Doka » 10-22-2014 09:44 AM

Hi Fan, old address here with a server,old address gone. On a tablet now straight wi fi want to change to gmail address. Still getting in on old addess don't know for how long.
Karma Rules

User avatar
Fan
Lady with a
Posts: 5270
Joined: 05-09-2011 02:18 PM
Contact:

Post by Fan » 10-22-2014 11:50 AM

Doka wrote: Hi Fan, old address here with a server,old address gone. On a tablet now straight wi fi want to change to gmail address. Still getting in on old addess don't know for how long.


This is the basic method https://support.google.com/mail/answer/164640?hl=en. You will need the login to the old email. Google should in theory import all your old email. Let me know if you have trouble.
The heartbreaking necessity of lying about reality and the heartbreaking impossibility of lying about it.

― Kurt Vonnegut, Cat's Cradle

User avatar
Doka
Pirate
Posts: 5387
Joined: 09-02-2009 08:15 PM

Post by Doka » 10-22-2014 02:46 PM

I think I may not have been too clear. I only need to change my email address, here on this forum. People ,at one time, where having trouble updating there profiles without loosing their join date and etc. If thats no problem. I will just go into my forum profile(fantastic forum) and change my email address.?? Sorry for the confusion.

:cool:
Karma Rules

User avatar
Fan
Lady with a
Posts: 5270
Joined: 05-09-2011 02:18 PM
Contact:

Post by Fan » 10-22-2014 02:48 PM

Doka wrote: I think I may not have been too clear. I only need to change my email address, here on this forum. People ,at one time, where having trouble updating there profiles without loosing their join date and etc. If thats no problem. I will just go into my forum profile(fantastic forum) and change my email address.?? Sorry for the confusion.

:cool:


Oh shoot that is easy :) Try changing it yourself, otherwise email me at webmaster@fantasticforum.com with the new email address and I will get it done for you!
The heartbreaking necessity of lying about reality and the heartbreaking impossibility of lying about it.

― Kurt Vonnegut, Cat's Cradle

Post Reply

Return to “FF IT Tech”