Letters From The Front

War, News and Stories of Iraq

Moderator: Super Moderators

mudwoman
Pirate

Letters From The Front

Post by mudwoman » 07-06-2003 05:21 PM

(Please see first letter posted: >Iraq > USMC "Lessons Learned", Operation Iraqi Freedom and >Iraq > * Heavy Sigh)

The NCO makes 7 points. All are solid. If you only read one or two may I suggest you please at least read point 7.

(Automatically edited by FF)

06-19-2003

Leadership and Logistical Failures Hurt Troops

Editor's Note: The following memo was sent from a senior NCO in the 3rd Infantry Division still serving in Iraq. Certain details have been omitted to protect his identity.

To: Col. David H. Hackworth

Subj: Leadership Failures in Iraq

I am a senior enlisted soldier in the Army, and I have a few points of view I would like to discuss in this forum with the intentions of confirming or alleviating some misnomers that I have seen communicated recently.

I would first like to both confirm and dispel some of the misunderstandings concerning logistics in Operation Iraqi Freedom. It is absolutely true that the logistical portion of the campaign was the biggest downfall both in planning and execution. The biggest travesty is, while there was an obvious miscalculation of what it would take to support us on the battlefield, there was little to no evident planning for sustaining the soldiers upon completion of the main war effort. Here are some prime examples that cannot be disputed by any twist of fact or camouflaging by the "spin doctors" in public relations: